Passports & Visas

TRAVEL Wednesday, 04 July, 2012

Passports & Visas

Cyprus Passports & Visas

A: Valid Passport without visa, for bona fide tourists is required for a stay of up to 90 days for nationals of: Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holy See (State of the Vatican), Honduras, Hong-Kong Special Administrative Region (the exemption concerns only the holders of HKSAR passports), Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea South, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao S.A.R. (the exemption concerns only the holders of Macao S.A.R. passports), Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Note: Further to the above, citizens from countries of the European Union, Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway may enter Cyprus with their National Identity card or a travel document, provided it bears a photo of the holder and the nationality is clearly stated.

B: Other Countries with valid passport with visa.
Note 1: Collective passports admitted. Visas required except if the holder belongs to a country mentioned at A above.

Note 2: Transit visas for a stay of up to 5 days in Cyprus are not required if the holder is a citizen of a country mentioned above. Citizens of other countries, except Iraq and Turkey, may obtain transit visas for a stay of up to 5 days upon arrival provided their case is considered bona fide and they are in possession of onward tickets and visas for their country of destination where such visas are required. Citizens of Iraq and Turkey require prior visas issued by the Migration Officer, Ministry of the Interior, CY 1457 Lefkosia (Nicosia).

Note 3: Applications for visa should be made to Diplomatic Missions of the Republic or if none, to the nearest British Consulate.

Note 4: Free visa for nationals of Arab Republic of Egypt, Syrian Arab Republic and Ukraine. Fee for visas: C£5,00, Transit visas: Free.

Note 5: Persons entering as visitors are not allowed to take up any form of employment or engage in business. Persons wishing to enter Cyprus for employment or business as well as for studies should be in possession of entry permits prior to their departure for Cyprus.

Note 6: For any further information regarding Passports and visas please apply to the Migration Department, CY 1457 Lefkosia.
Tel: 357 22 80 44 20/21, 22 80 44 01, Telefax: 357 22 67 69 44.

Note 7: Travellers arriving in the Republic of Cyprus may enter the Republic only through the legal ports of entry: Larnaka and Pafos International Airports, or the ports of Larnaka, Lemesos (Limassol) and Pafos. The Ports of Ammochostos (Famagusta), Keryneia and Karavostasi, as well as the airports in the part of the Republic illegally occupied by the Turkish invasion forces have been declared by the Government as prohibited ports of entry and exit and no passenger should enter or leave the Republic through these ports.