Canary Islands

Canary Islands

The Canary Islands are located in the Atlantic Ocean, south-west of Spain and north-west of Africa. Our holiday Villas allow you to enjoy the climate and the plentiful hours of sunshine in complete luxury. The Canary Islands comprise of seven large islands:

El Hierro, the westernmost island, covers around 260km2 (103 sq miles), making it the smallest of the major islands.  El Hierro was declared Reserve of the Biosphere in 2000. The Island’s capital is Valverde. Also known as Ferro, the island was once believed to be the westernmost land in the world. 

Fuerteventura, with a surface area of around 1,600km2 (640 sq miles), is the second-most extensive island of the archipelago. The Island has been declared a Biosphere reserve by Unesco. Being also the most ancient of the islands, it is the one that is more eroded: its highest point is the Peak of the Bramble, at a height of approximately 800 metres (2,600 ft). The Island’s capital is Puerto del Rosario.

Gran Canaria has a surface area of around 1,500km2 (600 sq miles) and is the second most populous island of the Canary Island after Tenerife.  The Island’s capital is Las Palmas dating back to the 15th century.

La Gomera, has an area of approximately 370km2 (approximately 142 sq miles). Geologically it is one of the oldest of the archipelago. The Island’s capital is San Sebastian de La Gomera.  Garjonay’s National Park is located on this island.

Lanzarote, is the easternmost island and one of the most ancient of the archipelago. Lanzarote has a surface of around 840km2 (326 sq miles). The capital of the island is Arrecife.

La Palma covers an area of around 700km2 (270 sq miles).  La Palma is the second-highest island of the Canaries, with the Roque de los Muchachos 2,423 metres (7,949 ft) as its highest point. Santa Cruz de La Palma is the capital for La Palma.

Tenerife is, with its area of 2,034 km2 (785.33 sq mi), the most extensive island of the Canary Islands. In addition, with 906,854 inhabitants it is the most populated island of the archipelago and Spain. Two of the islands' principal cities are located on it: The capital, Santa Cruz de Tenerife and San Cristóbal de La Laguna (a World Heritage Site). San Cristóbal de La Laguna, the second city of the island is home to the oldest university in the Canary Islands. The Teide, with its 3,718 metres (12,198 ft) is the highest peak of Spain and also a World Heritage Site.

The seven islands: La Palma, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura, Lanzarote, and the two lesser unspoilt islands of Hierro and Gomera, form a part of a volcanic mountain range which lies beneath the Atlantic Ocean.

The all year sub-tropical climate, which is regulated by the Gulf Stream and Trade Winds, attracts thousands of visitors every year to the islands that come to enjoy the sun, sea, nightlife and hospitality of the Canarian people.

The official language is Spanish although English is widely spoken, and the currency is the Euro.

Canary Islands Articles & Travel Tips

Canary Islands Weather
The islands’ mild temperatures are why they have long been known as ‘the islands of eternal spring.’ The mild climate occurs largely...
Food & Drink
In the main resorts, restaurants offer the full range of international cuisine, Spanish dishes and a choice of local delicacies. Some of the specialt...
About Canary Islands
The Canary Islands – consisting of seven very individual islands, are separated by crystal clear Atlantic Ocean waters and continuously bathed i...
Canary Islands Shopping
The Canary Islands has a special Duty Free status, making Tobacco, Perfume and Alcohol much cheaper than other shops in the EU. Prices are much lower...

Canary Islands Holiday Rentals - Villas & Apartments

Galdar, Gran Canaria
5 Bedrooms, Sleeps up to 10, Rating
£1,774 to £2,016 /week
select a date range to see total cost
Agaete, Gran Canaria
4 Bedrooms, Sleeps up to 10, Rating
£1,754 to £2,016 /week
select a date range to see total cost